Forgot your password?

Enter the email address for your account and we'll send you a verification to reset your password.

Your email address
Your new password
The high-event tournament initially known as “Mini World Cup” and now the eight edition of the ICC Champions Trophy is all set to take place from June 1 when the first match will be played between England and Bangladesh at the Oval, London. England are hosting the June 1-18 tournament for the third time. The tournament was introduced in the year 1998 when it was called the ‘ICC Knockout’. The first edition was hosted by Bangladesh and was officially named the Wills International Cup.
Here is a look at the winners and hosts of previous seven editions of the ICC Champions Trophy.
1998- South Africa first and only win till date
South Africa registered their first win at the inaugural edition which took place from October 24 to November 1. Hansie Cronje’s South Africa played the final match against West Indies. Proteas skipper Cronje single-handedly took the responsibility by scoring 61 runs and led his team to a 4-wicket win. Jacques Kallis who picked up 5 wickets during the match won the Man-of-the-Match.
2000- Chris Cairns from New Zealand steals victory against India
Indian cricket team under the leadership of Sourav Ganguly found new heroes in the form of Zaheer Khan and Yuvraj Singh. The partnership of 141 runs between Sourav Ganguly and Sachin Tendulkar was the only strong thing came from batting side as India were restricted to 264/6. Despite Ganguly’s 117, India failed to crush New Zealand as all-rounder Chris Cairns’ unbeaten 102 runs led his side to win the match by 4 wickets.
2002- Rain played spoilsport, India and Sri Lanka declared joint winners
Sri Lanka hosted the 2002 ICC Champions trophy. An enthralling final was anticipating between India and Sri Lanka, however, India’s dream to win the tournament was shattered due to rain. Despite the final was played twice, rain didn’t let the match conclude, hence the trophy was shared between India and Sri Lanka and both the teams were declared joint winners.
2004- England lost the nerve-wrecking final against West Indies
The final of the tournament was played between the hosts and West Indies in London. West Indies were playing final for the second time of the ICC Champions Trophy while hosts were eager to win their first. Marcus Trescothick’s 104 made England to put 217 runs on board. When West Indies came to bat, they lost wickets at regular intervals against England bowlers. At one point, the score board was 147/8 and England was hoping to win it easily but there was something else in store for them. Courtney Browne and Ian Bradshaw surprising 71-run partnership at the ninth wicket left Michael Vaughan’s side embarrassed as West Indies won their first Champions Trophy title.
2006- Australia lift their first Champions Trophy title
West Indies entered into the Champions Trophy final once again and this time, it was against Australia. Before that, Australia had never played Champions Trophy final. Australia under the leadership of Ricky Ponting won the high-event tournament for the first time. All-rounder Shane Watson was declared Man-of-the-Match, scoring 57 and taking two wickets.
2009- Australia won the title in a row
No team from Asia could make it to the ICC finals. Australia played their second Champions Trophy final against New Zealand in Centurion. New Zealand managed 200/9 at the end of 50 overs. In reply, Shane Watson scored a century, 105 and Cameron White’s 62 led their side to a six-wicket win.
2013- Ms Dhoni-led India bring trophy home
England hosted the seventh edition of the ICC Champions trophy for the second time. The final match was played between the host team England and India. The rain played the spoilsport and the match was reduced to 20 overs. Batting first, India managed to put 129/7 in the 20 overs. In reply, England lost quick wickets and were reduced to 46/4 before Ravi Bopora and Eoin Morgan stayed at the crease and took the responsibility. The biggest challenge of the tournament when MS Dhoni gave the ball to Ishant Sharma in the 18th over and England needed just 28 runs off 18 balls. The fast bowler did his best what he could have done. Then Ashwin’s bowling did the rest as India win the math by 5 runs and bring the title home.
  • 0
  • 0
  • 4
  • 0
  • 5
  • 1

Add you Response

  • Please add your comment.